Like most bills, by the time it became law this one was full of unrelated things. I have included the summary of the parts that matter to us below. If you want to read the actual TRULY AGREED BILL, you can click on it and it will take you to the state house page. The entire first half is full of things completely unrelated to CCW in any way. When you finally come to the relevant parts, keep in mind the [bracketed] words are prior existing law being deleted while type in bold is new language that was added.


THE SUMMARIES

WEAPONS (Section 571.020)

Currently, a person commits a class A misdemeanor if he or she possesses, manufactures, transports, repairs, or sells a switchblade knife. The bill limits the prohibition to when the activity involving a switchblade knife violates federal law and makes the crime a class C felony.

CONCEALED CARRY ENDORSEMENTS (Sections 571.030, 571.037, 571.101, 571.111, and 571.117)

The bill lowers the age at which a person can obtain a concealed carry endorsement from 21 to 18 years if the person is a member of the United States Armed Forces or is honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces and is a citizen of the United States and has assumed residency, is stationed in Missouri, or is the spouse of the member stationed in Missouri and is 21 years of age.

Any person who has a valid concealed carry endorsement and is lawfully carrying a firearm in a concealed manner may briefly and openly display the firearm to the ordinary sight of another person, unless the firearm is intentionally displayed in an angry or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense.

A person can receive a concealed carry endorsement without meeting the current requirements if he or she submits a copy of a certificate of firearms safety training course completion that was issued on or before August 27, 2011, if the certificate met the requirements that were in effect on the date it was issued.

FIREARMS DISQUALIFICATIONS (Section 571.092)

An individual over 18 years of age who has been adjudicated incapacitated under Chapter 475, has been involuntarily committed under Chapter 632, or has had a Missouri adjudication or commitment that results in a firearms disqualification pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 922(d)(4) or (g)(4) is allowed to file a petition for the removal of the disqualification to ship, transport, receive, purchase, possess, or transfer a firearm. The procedure for filing the petition and the rules of evidence are specified in the bill. The bill repeals current provisions in Section 475.375 regarding these petitions.

The circuit court must grant a removal of the disqualification if there is a finding by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioner will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety and that granting the removal is not contrary to the public interest. If a petition is granted, the county clerk must forward the order to the State Highway Patrol so the patrol can contact the Federal Bureau of Investigation for updating the petitioner’s record with the National Instant Criminal Background Check System within 21 days of the receipt of the order. If a petition is denied, the individual may appeal, and the review of a circuit court ruling will be de novo.

EXPUNGEMENT OF CERTAIN CRIMINAL RECORDS (Sections 488.650, 561.026, and 610.140)

A person is allowed to apply for the expungement of certain criminal records after 10 years have elapsed for a specified misdemeanor and 20 years have elapsed for a specified felony since the person has completed his or her imprisonment or any period of probation or parole if he or she has not been found guilty of any misdemeanor or felony, except specified traffic violations, during that time and has paid any amount of restitution ordered by the court, the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant the expungement, and the expungement is consistent with the public welfare.

Any person may apply to any court in which he or she was found guilty of any felony or misdemeanor offense of passing a bad check under Section 570.120, fraudulently stopping payment of an instrument under Section 570.125, or fraudulently using a credit or debit device under Section 570.130; any misdemeanor offense of negligent burning or exploding under Section 569.065, negligently setting a fire under Section 569.067, second degree tampering under Section 569.090, second degree property damage under Section 569.120, trespass in the first degree under Sections 569.140 and 569.145, gambling under Section 572.020, or drunkenness or intoxication under Section 574.075; or any class B or C misdemeanor offense of peace disturbance under Section 574.010 for an order to expunge the records of the arrest, plea, trial, or conviction. A person may apply to have one or more eligible offenses expunged if all the offenses are listed on the petition. The petition must name as defendants all law enforcement agencies, courts, prosecuting or circuit attorneys, central state repositories of criminal records, or others whom the petitioner has reason to believe may possess the records subject to expungement.

If the court enters an order of expungement, a copy of the order must be provided to each entity named in the petition, and each entity must destroy any record in its possession relating to any offense listed upon receipt of the order. Once expunged, the court records and files will be confidential and only available to the parties or by order of the court for good cause shown. The expungement also restores all rights to the person as if the crime had never occurred. The central repository must request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to expunge the records from its files. However, a person granted an expungement must disclose any expunged offense when the disclosure is necessary to complete certain applications for professional licenses, certificates, or permits issued by the state; any license issued by the Missouri Gaming Commission; or paid or unpaid employment with an entity licensed by the commission, any state-operated lottery, or any emergency services provider, including any law enforcement agency.

A person may be granted more than one expungement but may be granted only one expungement from the same court.

The clerk of the court is required to assess a $100 surcharge on all petitions for expungement. Moneys collected are payable to the General Revenue Fund.